United States



Jesse Carlin
Industrial Designer

Where did you grow up?
I grew up all over the U.S. Indiana, Texas and Delaware are a couple of the places I lived as a kid before moving to the suburbs of Minneapolis with my parents, where I spent the majority of my childhood.

What are your interests/hobbies?
Bike riding of all sorts, going fast, design (of the industrial sort), snowboarding, motorcycles, dogs, rats, beer drinking, small personal design projects, skateboarding, pick-up hockey, hip-hop music, and binge watching T.V

Who do you think you are, anyway?
Still working on that. As for now, I’m a 20-something who stumbled into an awesome job designing products that I genuinely care about and want to use and for that I feel very lucky. I’m also maybe a little bit of a frat boy at heart.

Give me your top ten factoids about yourself that others may not realize.

  1. I do not get Mosquito bites. No joke.
  2. I am a big fan of music many others would deem “distasteful” …and Autotune
  3. I’m also pretty into reality T.V.
  4. I come from a family of body builders
  5. My Father is a biochemist – I went a different route
  6. I used to race very fast go karts
  7. I played hockey for 8 years when I was younger and I still love playing pickup games in the winter
  8. Brett Michaels might kind of be my hero…I’m very confused by this
  9. Airplanes scare the living shit out of me
  10. I have had 8 pet rats

Who or what influences your behavior and why?
Stone Cold Steve Austin, mostly. If you grew up watching the WWF in the 90’s, you understand.

On a serious note, I am driven by the interactions I have with others. Seeing people be passionate about something inspires me and influences me in a big way. I try to surround myself with people who keep the stoke up, and I try to do the same – No point in doing something you’re not excited about. Unless you have to do it. Sometimes you just have to do things.

What would you say your job is around here?
I’m pretty sure everyone I work with thinks I’m an engineer. I am actually an Industrial Designer and I’m responsible for front end strategy, research, and the actual design work involved in developing Surly products. This includes bikes, bags, tires, and other accessories / parts we make. Daily tasks include research, concept generation, prototyping, spinning 3D parts around in Solidworks, communication with overseas vendors, and dodging flying objects.

One sentence to say what you want to. Go.
You on Myspace?